Scroll Top

Hall of Fame

Cairns Game Fishing Hall of Fame

Cairns Game Fishing Hall of Fame

The Cairns Game Fishing Hall of Fame has been formed to provide a memorial for those individuals, living and deceased, who have made meaningful contributions over the years to Cairns game fishing. The contributions can be for angling achievements, exploration, angling technology, literature, the arts, science, education, the environment, fishing administration, communication, administration of fishery resources, promotion of the area and its resources or any other such thing that can be demonstrated to have contributed to the development of the sport at Cairns.

The decision on the awarding of Hall of Fame entry will be entirely at the discretion of the Hall of Fame Committee and will be based on written information provided in support of the nominee and on any other supporting information subsequently requested or obtained. The Hall of Fame Committee may conduct its own research into a nominee’s achievements and may request additional information in support of the application, entirely at its own discretion.

Nominations will be accepted from any individual, association, club or organisation other than the individual being nominated. Nominees may be persons deceased or alive.

Nominations must be in writing and should include as much information as possible on the person being nominated. The nomination in writing must include the name and contact details of the proposer/s. ALL NOMINATIONS WILL REMAIN CONFIDENTIAL.

Nominations may be made by mail to: The Chairman, Cairns Hall of Fame Awards, Cairns Professional Game Fishing Association, P.O. Box 5722, Cairns, Queensland, 4870, Australia or by e-mail to

Current members of the Hall of Fame Committee are not eligible for nomination.



  • Captain Peter Bristow
  • Dr Dave Curnock
  • Billy Fairbairn
  • Patrick Gay AM
  • Bob Lowe
  • Vince Vlasoff MBE


  • Sir Garrick Agnew
  • Dr Julian Pepperell


  • Mr & Mrs Bob and Dolly Dyer
  • John (Jock) Izatt
  • William (Bill) Edwards


  • Capt Laurie Woodbridge
  • Capt Laurie Wright


  • Capt Peter B Wright
  • Ms Daphne Nielsen


  • Capt George Bransford
  • Capt Dennis “Brazakka” Wallace
  • Mr Jack Erskine
  • Mr John Johnson
  • Mr Peter Goadby